2017 Canadian Health Informatics Award Winners announced at June 5 Gala

CHIA Gala Celebrates Canadian Excellence

Toronto (June 08, 2017)  – The Canadian Health Informatics Awards (CHIA) Gala on June 5, 2017 honoured the digital health leaders, newcomers, and visionaries who are reimagining healthcare delivery in Canada today. Winners were honoured in the following categories:

Steven Huesing Scholarship Award: Janessa Griffith, a PhD Student at the University of Toronto
Canadian Nurses Foundation Kathryn J. Hannah Nursing Informatics Scholarship:
Guillaume Fontaine, Graduate Student and Registered Nurse at the Montreal Heart Institute

Implementation Project Team Award: Health Report Manager (HRM) Project Team  – OntarioMD, Connecting South West Ontario Program, Orion Health and Certified EMR Vendors
Emerging Leader in Health Informatics Award: Jennifer Gillert, Senior Business Systems Analyst at Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO)
Innovation and Care Delivery Project Team Award: Provinical eConsult Inisitative Project Team – OntarioMD, Ontario Telemedicine Network (OTN), eHealth Ontario, QHR Technologies, Oscar EMR and KAI Innovations
Innovation in the Adoption of Health Informatics Award: Mark Farrow, Hamilton Health Sciences, HEWS Project
Patient Care Innovation Project team Award: MyGrief.ca Project Team –  Canadian Virtual Hospice and the Canadian Partnership Against Cancer
Clinician Leadership Award: Dr. Darren Larson, Chief Medical Information Officer, OntarioMD
Corporate Citizenship Award: Healthtech Consultants

CHIA and the CHIA Gala are hosted by COACH: Canada’s Health Informatics Association and ITAC Health. An impartial adjudication committee evaluates all nominations and scholarship applications and chooses the award recipient(s). The CHIA Gala is held annually as part of the e-Health Conference and Tradeshow.

For more Information contact:                                                                               
Shannon Bott, Executive Director of Operations, COACH

Elaine Huesing, Executive Director, ITAC Health