Kathleen Wynne’s shuffled cabinet features 40% women

Ontario Premier Kathleen Wynne introduced a new cabinet that welcomes seven new faces and more women to her inner-circle.

Wynne introduced her new cabinet — 40 per cent of which is made up of women — at a ceremony at Queen’s Park on Monday. This is the first cabinet shuffle since the June 2014 election.

The new cabinet features seven new faces, while some high-profile politicians will be changing roles. Yasir Naqvi, for example, will take on the role of attorney general. While Liz Sandals moves from education to the treasury board.

Other ministers, including Glen Murray (environment), Eric Hoskins (health) and Charles Sousa (finance) will stay in their roles.

Some highlights of the cabinet changes:

  • Mitzie Hunter becomes Minister of Education.
  • Deb Matthews remains Deputy Premier and also gets the new title of Minister Responsible for Digital Government.
  • Indira Naidoo-Harris becomes Associate Minister of Finance responsible for the Ontario Retirement Pension Plan.
  • Glenn Thibeault, a former NDP MP, becomes Minster of Energy.
  • Laura Albanese becomes Minister of Citizenship and Immigration.

Several cabinet ministers announced they were leaving their posts before Monday’s event.

Attorney General Madeleine Meilleur, Seniors Affairs Minister Mario Sergio and Municipal Affairs Minister Ted McMeekin all stepped down last week, with McMeekin saying he wanted to make room for more women in cabinet.

Read more